Humble Dogs

That they might see with their eyes, hear with their ears, understand with their hearts. Matthew 13:15b

Oh No, More Snow, Again

Got up this morning, let the dog out and there it was. A “freshly fallen silent shroud of snow”.
I have always remembered that line. A perfect example of alliteration. Beautifully written to capture the very essence of a quiet Sunday morning after a snowfall. Written by Paul Simon for a song called “I Am A Rock”.

After enduring quite a long winter this year we in Northern Alberta haven’t seen the ground or grass for over three months now. During the past week, the winds have blown pine needles and other debris over the surface of the snow making it quite an ugly sight. Now, a fresh inch of snow has fallen and the landscape is clean again. Pure white, a symbol of Christ. The morning sun has poked through the clouds and the rolling mounds in the fields next door are really beautiful. Praise the Lord for small blessings.

Lyrics; I Am A Rock

Lyrics; I Am A Rock

I know little about Paul Simon, the author of the poem and he has never explained the meanings behind these lyrics. Like all good poets, he has left the interpretation to the reader. Many see a darkness here, prospects of loneliness, of suicide, of shutting out the world. Perhaps they are right. Perhaps it is about pining over lost love or opportunity. There are countless people we encounter every day who are trying to shut out the world and life. They are hurting, they are lost. They see only the dark side of life They are in need of a Savior.

OK Paul Simon, you left the interpretation to the reader, here’s mine:

I have my books
(The collection of books known as the Holy Bible. I have access to the truth and I am free.)
And my poetry to protect me;
(Poetry is harmony, there is harmony in a life with others in Christ)
I am shielded in my armor,
(The best shield we can don is the armor of God)
Hiding in my room, safe within my womb.
(We are hidden in Christ’s Temple room, safe, but ready for a rebirth from this womb into a whole new life and work each and everyday.)
I touch no one and no one touches me.
( I can reach out to the one in need, but I need not come into contact with his demons. They can’t touch me, I am Christ’s)
I am a rock, I am an island.
(Jesus has told us all, “I am the Rock of your Salvation, the safe island in the storms of life.)
And a rock feels no pain;
(Jesus is our healer, He has taken all our pain.)
And an island never cries.
( In God our tears shall reap in joy, our mourning shall be changed into dancing)


Upon being met with a fresh snowfall some may say, “Oh No, More Snow, Again.” But, in every turn, in every season, there is a reason, an underlying beauty to all God has given and created. Give thanks and enjoy for the Lord is Good.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

